Alif Productions
57, rue d'Alleray
75015 PARIS

Tél : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 00
Fax : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 01


alif.productions@wanadoo.fr


Musicians, soldiers of peace!

a film by Claire ALBY
(52', 2007)

At a time when all hopes for peace remain more than uncertain and more walls are erected both literally and in the minds, a young german conductor, Julien Salemkour, brilliant pianist of Algerian origin based in Berlin, is developing a magnificent project initiated by the Barenboïm-Saïd Foundation.

With his guidance, a group of renowned musicians, all of them brilliant solo artists with European orchestras, put their careers and personal lives on hold for several weeks at a time to go to Ramallah and teach music to Palestinian children.

Most of the children, aged between 6 and 15, live in refugee camps. They all gather in a primary school, the Friends School in the heart of Ramallah, which serves as the headquarters for the project. There, the teachers instruct the children who now form a proper orchestra. Once a year, Daniel Barenboïm himself pays them a visit to dispense his knowledge and follow the evolution of the project.


This first musical NGO has many objectives:

- To allow traumatised Palestinian children to rebuild their lives through the learning and the practice of a musical instrument.
- To bring these young pupils, whose ears are accustomed to oriental melodies, to discover the bases of western music.
- To give western musicians the opportunity to discover other musical worlds based on improvisation.
- To create and establish a symphony orchestra in Ramallah within the next five years.

This film will bear witness to the musicians’ commitment, the hope created by the music brought and taught by these men and women and the expectations they generate in the Palestinian children. Maybe one day, thanks to the regular practice of their instruments, these children will be able to once again lead a normal life, should the opportunity present itself.


“Musicians: soldiers of peace!” is an invitation to reflect upon the transmission of music, the mix of cultures and - as much for the children as for the teachers - a journey of discovery and growth through an encounter with the Other.

Alif Productions
57, rue d'Alleray
75015 PARIS

Tél : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 00
Fax : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 01


alif.productions@wanadoo.fr


Les musiciens de la paix

un film de Claire ALBY
(52', 2007)

À l’heure où les espoirs de paix demeurent incertains, où les murs se dressent tant sur le terrain que dans les esprits, un jeune chef d’orchestre allemand, Julien Salemkour, brillant pianiste d’origine algérienne vivant à Berlin, développe un magnifique projet initié par la Fondation Barenboïm-Saïd.

Sous sa houlette, des musiciens renommés, brillants solistes d’orchestres européens, mettent entre parenthèses carrière et vie personnelle pendant plusieurs semaines d'affilée et partent pour Ramallah donner des leçons de musique à des enfants palestiniens.

Ces enfants, âgés de 6 à 15 ans, vivent principalement dans des camps de réfugiés. Tous se retrouvent alors dans une école élémentaire, "the friends school", en plein centre de Ramallah, qui leur sert de quartier général. Là, les professeurs donnent des cours à ces jeunes enfants qui forment un orchestre. Daniel Barenboïm lui-même y descend une fois par an pour y prodiguer son savoir et suivre l’évolution de ce projet.

Les objectifs de cette première ONG musicale sont pluriels :

- Permettre à des enfants palestiniens traumatisés de se restructurer à travers l'apprentissage et la pratique d'un
instrument de musique
- Faire découvrir à de jeunes oreilles habituées aux mélodies arabes les fondements de la musique occidentale
- Donner l'occasion à des musiciens occidentaux de découvrir d'autres horizons musicaux fondés sur
l'improvisation
- Créer et implanter un orchestre symphonique d'ici cinq ans à Ramallah.

Ce film témoignera de l'engagement des musiciens, de l’espoir que la musique portée et enseignée par ces hommes et ces femmes peut susciter, et de l'attente que ces enfants palestiniens ont à leur égard. Un jour peut-être, grâce à la pratique régulière de leur instrument, ces enfants pourront se réadapter à une vie normale si elle leur est offerte.

"Les musiciens, soldats de la paix !" nous convie à une réflexion sur la transmission de la musique, sur le mélange des cultures et, tant pour les enfants que pour les professeurs, sur la découverte et l’enrichissement grâce à la rencontre avec l’Autre.