Alif Productions
57, rue d'Alleray
75015 PARIS

Tél : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 00
Fax : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 01


alif.productions@wanadoo.fr


When mammals lived side by side with dinosaurs

Written and directed by: Pierre SAUNIER
(52')

The Cretaceous period started 135 million years ago. While the end of the Jurassic is well-known, the beginning of the next era remains mysterious. The sites of that period are few and far between, and Champblanc (near Cognac in Charente) is by far the major site in the world.
The site of the huge quarry, covering more than 30 hectares, was located in a seaside area, either a lagoon or a delta populated with dinosaurs, crocodiles, turtles and sharks…

Today, it is the biggest excavation dig in Europe. The goal of the excavations, under the direction of Jean-Michel Mazin, Senior Researcher at the French National Research Centre, is to decipher a still mysterious episode of the beginning of the Cretaceous period.

Today the prevailing species is homo sapiens, and it can be divided into two groups : on the one hand the quarrymen driving their « bulldozaurs » and disrupting millions of years of archives to turn them into plaster, one the other hand palaeontologists, coming from all Europe, who extricate fragments of bones and sift sediments, looking for microscopic remnants.

The samples which are sorted and prepared on the spot are afterward entrusted to various teams of specialists in Poitiers, Lyon, Bordeaux, Paris, Copenhagen, London and Würtzburg. Together, these European experts are trying to solve the enigma of the Champblanc quarry.

Long ago, the first mammals appeared among dinosaurs. Indeed, many mammal teeth can be found in the Champblanc sediments, which is very rare indeed. These small beasts were to outlive the big ones and would end up giving birth to creatures who, a hundred and thirty five million years later, would be able to recreate the site through computer-generated pictures.

Indeed, today science makes it possible to fathom what the period looked like and to propose a likely representation of it. Obviously, the film will tell the story of this scientific adventure, following the researchers in their investigations but it will also allow us to travel into time and space, 140 million years ago, thanks to illustrations and computer-generated images.

Alif Productions
57, rue d'Alleray
75015 PARIS

Tél : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 00
Fax : 00 33 (0) 1 56 08 32 01


alif.productions@wanadoo.fr


Quand les premiers mammifères côtoyaient les dinosaures

Auteur-réalisateur : Pierre SAUNIER
(52')

Il y a 135 millions d’années, commençait le Crétacé et tous les spécialistes vous le diront : autant on connaît bien la fin du désormais célèbre Jurassique, autant les débuts du Crétacé restent mystérieux. Les gisements de cette période se comptent sur les doigts d’une main et celui de Champblanc (près de Cognac en Charente) est de loin le plus important des rares sites répertoriés dans le monde.

L’immense carrière de Champblanc qui s'étend sur plus de 30 hectares, se situait sur un espace margino-littoral de type lagune ou delta, peuplée de dinosaures, de crocodiles, de tortues, de requins…

C’est actuellement le plus grand chantier de fouilles paléontologiques en Europe. Entreprises par Jean-Michel Mazin, Directeur de recherches au CNRS et son équipe, ces fouilles visent à décrypter un épisode encore mystérieux du début du crétacé.

L’endroit, qui a vu défiler bien des espèces, abrite principalement de nos jours deux sortes d’homo sapiens : des carriers, qui aux commandes de leurs « bulldozaures » chamboulent des millions d’années d’archives pour en faire du plâtre, et des paléontologues, venus de toute l’Europe, qui dégagent des fragments d’os et tamisent les sédiments à la recherche de micro-restes.

Les échantillons, triés et préparés sur place, sont confiés à une dizaine d’équipes de spécialistes de Poitiers, Lyon, Bordeaux, Paris, Barcelone, Copenhague, Londres et Würtzburg. Ainsi, une chaîne de compétences européenne travaille à résoudre les énigmes de la carrière de Champblanc.

Il y a fort longtemps, au milieu des dinosaures apparurent les premiers mammifères, et fait exceptionnel, on trouve dans les sédiments de Champblanc de nombreuses dents qui témoignent de leur présence. Ces petites bestioles allaient survivre aux grosses et finiraient par donner naissance à des êtres capables, cent trente-cinq millions d’années plus tard, de recréer l’endroit en images de synthèse.

La science permettant de comprendre et de représenter ce à quoi aurait probablement ressemblé cette époque, ce film racontera non seulement l'histoire de cette aventure scientifique en accompagnant les chercheurs dans leurs investigations mais aussi, permettra un voyage dans le temps et dans l’espace il y a 140 millions d’années, grâce aux illustrations et séquences en images de synthèse.